Switching to 24/0 in the last days of flowering.

Discussion in 'Advanced Growing Techniques' started by EroticTubeSock, Jun 24, 2010.

1. Ok, I'm a newb. I've done a few grows, indoor and out, soil and hydro.

It's generally accepted that hormonal changes in plants are slow, taking a couple of weeks to display the changes. In my experience and with the strains I've grown, males usually show their pre-flowers first after about 14 days of 12/12. Females show theirs shortly after, somewhere between 14 & 21 days. I know this is anecdotal, and will vary greatly between different strains and environments.

I'm going to try something in a couple of weeks, when I'll be at about 8 weeks of 12/12: I'm going to switch to 24/0 and see what effect this has on yield. My hypothesis is that the hormonal change will be slow enough that new calyxes can still form and grow, and maybe faster than they normally would since they'll be receiving twice the length of light. Anyone who has put a post harvest plant back into veg knows that it takes a good while before the plant recovers and start new growth. I take this as evidence that a plant at the end of flowering has a such a hormonal impetus that it resists the veg state.

Ideally, I'd do this with two similar clones in separate flowing chambers so I could make a direct comparison. Hopefully, I'll be able to try this in the future, after I get my ak-48 seeds and get a mother to take clones from. Of course, I'd need to build a second flowering room with another equivalent wattage lamp.

I'm just curious what some of you vets think of this idea. Cockamamie? Ever heard of anyone doing it?

2. Neat idea

One consideration however- I wonder if THC biosynthesis is more efficient in the dark? Maybe it even has a step in the biosynthetic pathway that requires darkness?