Survivorman and Man Vs Wild

Discussion in 'General' started by Alphå, Jan 16, 2009.

1. I've never been in the SAS. I don't have an English accent either. But I've hiked and backpacked hundreds (maybe thousands now) of miles into the wilderness. I studied waterborne survival at the military academy I attend and consider myself to be an avid survivalist and outdoorsman.

These guys (Bear and that other guy) are both fucking morons. Some of the things they say to do are plain dangerous. Its all for show-- for TV. Its all entertainment.

I can tell you that the number one thing that will help you in a survival situation is tools. Having some simple tools with you at all times can increase your chances of survival tenfold. Our bodies aren't primal anymore. We are not designed to be able to dig holes with our claws (nails), nor can we stand up against many predators in the wild without at least a spear or club. A few things I ALWAYS have on me are:

A large folding knife, half serrated and kept sharp
    Three sources of fire: Bic, Zippo, and a small ferroserium rod on my keychain
    Cell phone to call emergency services
    Spare optics (I am legally blind with nearsightedness and carry spare contact lenses with me)
    Watch

There are more things I have that I usually carry (really bright Petzl headlamp, for one), but I also have a BOB (Bug Out Bag) that has 72 hours of food and water, and tools for me to live. I have everything from a sharpening stone to a bandanna to a folding shovel in it. It weighs about 20 pounds, but has everything I could need (including shelter in the form of a poncho).