subs in my trunk

Discussion in 'Planes, Trains & Automobiles' started by funnybunny, Sep 23, 2010.

1. So, heres the deal. I drive my parents old toyota camry (thats about to bite the dust) and im saving up for a car. I was gonna put 2 12" subs in the trunk, and then a nice set of speakers, when I get my new car. Basically, I found a good deal on some subs and an amp, and was gonna get them and I know I wouldnt be able to resist using them. Does anyone with experience in setting up car audio know if it would be easy to but them in the shit car I have right now and then move them to my new car at a later date? or would it be inexpensive and a hassle? btw, I would permanently anchor them or anything, probably just wedge them into back with some foam or something.

2. I have a degree in audio engineering :D
    But as far as the subs, You want to know what exactly the specs on the subs are or youll probably get ripped off. Especially with the amp.
    Things you want to know:
    1. LOOK AT THE RMS RATING ON THE AMP! Ive seen countless people get ripped off because the box said 700 watts on the front. Look on the back for the rms rating. Im not gonna explain what rms means but basicly its the true CLEAN ampreage output of the amp without distortion. If the amp is a 2 channel amp or a 4 channel amp makes a difference also. If your going to buy an amp just for your subs get a 2 channel. Subs are big and take a lot more power then midrange and tweeters so you need to look at the max rating CONTINIOUS!!