Strains with high yield

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Jrelax, Feb 21, 2013.

1. What's going on errbody? im a beginner on growing. Just want to know what are some of your fave strains and does it produce high yield? Thinking about starting with white widow. Stay chiefin gc

2. Best of luck!

3. Critical mass

4. If you're starting from seed, take each suggestion with a grain of salt.

Think of a large family and their offspring. If 2 people have say 10 children, there may be a few that are really tall and a few that a short with some in between. This concept happens with marijuana from seed also.

If you pick a strain to run, like Critical Mass, there will be multiple phenotypes. Phenotypes are just variations of traits from the mother and father plants. With seeds, you may pull the winning phenotype, or you might get a different one that may not yield quite as much.

You wouldn't expect a man and woman to give birth to 5 children of all the same phenotype, they'd all share the same traits.

Does that make sense?

Basically, pick what you want, it'll make you more content in the end.

5. I'll look further into it. So does that mean the thc level would be lower since its variety? What about in particular strain? Which would recommend in high yield?

6. Well, THC level might be better. Allow me to explain!

Let's say there are two parent plants that both have high potency. This is Mendelian genetics, he's dead. Since the trait showed we will assume, for simplicity, that their traits could be either PP or Pp since they both carry the dominant potency trait (P). The lower case p would be lower potency, which is recessive in this case.

For example, we will use PP as the father and Pp in the mother. If we cross those two parents, their offsprings could inherit any one of the following phenotypes; PP, Pp, pP, pp.

So, you could expect 3/4 of your stock to have high potency and a quarter would have low potency.