Stoner ingenuity needs a second set of blood-shot eyes

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Biggobelly, Mar 9, 2017.

1. Let me start out thanking all of the folks that have help me enter into organic growing through their insightful posts and playful banter. I started out in hydro and left that for soil-less. Got tired of buying all the nutes and spending tons of my time checking pH levels, EC and remembering what day it was for each plant and mixing up the appropriate nutes. After months and months of investigation and reading every post I could come across, I started R.O.L.S. After a kind soul turned me on to Dr Elaine Ingram, I started learning about no-till and figured that is where it really is. Mimick nature as best as possible and let MN do her thing. So, I bought some 7 and 20 gallon fabric pots, mixed up my soil from a post AD gave in the no-till thread:

33% CSPM - not peat moss, Canadian Sphagnum Peat Moss
    33% Pumice - not perlite. Not Growstones (some new stoner product at Hydro Heaven)
    33% Malibu Biodynamic Compost Compost

My Fix-It Mix - per cubic foot

1/2 cup kelp meal
    1/2 cup neem meal
    1/2 crustacean meal
    4 cups basalt rock dust

I'm also adding in 6-8 cups of bio-char per cf. Plenty (20 lbs) of 6-row malted barley to grind for top-dressing. three giant 3 foot tall aloe plants and every amendment possible (listened to too many people on other forums).

I have 16" saucers with "rocks-that-don't-roll" lining the bottom to lift the 7-gallon fabric pots off the plastic saucers. My issue comes with what to put under my 20 gallon fabric pots (19 7/8") so they get air underneath. I thought about building a frame out of 1x6 and lining it with a double layer of black/white poly with a layer or two of rocks, but I am not sure that will be thick enough to not tear. 24 inch saucers are too expensive at $25/ea. Any suggestions?