Still have smell with carbon filter

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by Walla2Walla, Feb 22, 2016.

1. Why can I still smell that sweet odor coming from my exhaust. I have a 4x4x7 tent with 6 in fan pulling air through a carbon filter then through a hood then exhaust. But the smell isn't being scrubbed. (Most of it is but I can still smell bud)..

Carbon filter-> ducting -> light hood-> ducting -> exhaust

Sent from my SM-N920V using Grasscity Forum mobile app

2. You might have a have a fan dedicated to the scrubber, in the tent. With your set up it's only making 1 pass

3. So have a dedicated fan scrubbing and a dedicated fan for cooling the hood?

4. I'm a newbie grower but I design carbon filtration for plastic extrusion applications....A 6" fan is too many cfm's for that space. Use a voltage regulator to slow it down and get better 'dwell time' in the carbon. With too many cfm's it rushes through the carbon too quickly.

• Like Like x 4
  5. And you might have an air leak in your piping after the filter check to see all joints...

6. Hoods can leak. That's why I push through my hood with the fan. Also consider that not all carbon filters are created equally. If your carbon filter is rated for 400-600cfms and you have to slow down your exhaust to get it to work properly then you need a better filter. I understand if you have to buy a cheap filter to get through your first grow but after that you should be able to invest in something decent.

• Agree Agree x 2