Stealth cardboard box LED grow.

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by leddy, Jun 11, 2012.

1. Hey guys,

Just joined and this is my first time growing, I found a seed in some bud I grabbed and decided to invest in a 90W UFO light, ($155), grabbed a box from a local warehouse, lined it with aluminum foil (dull side in). And an old cpu fan for circulation. Got a pot, high-end soil and basic nutes (20-20-20).

I started the sprout using 1 CFL (4000k ish), in a small box, then transplanted when the leaves extended past the Dixie cup diameter. During transplant, it was clear that the roots needed more room.

IMGA0010.JPG

I'm using custom r75: o10: b5 ratio LED all 90degrees, by custom request.

IMGA0002.JPG

What I've so far noticed is she's growing very bushy, wide leaves, so probably an Indica. The nodes are very short. It may be because of the lack of blue light ( as compared to the default ratio r70: o10: b10 ) or just may be the strain (no idea what strain this is).

IMGA0001.JPG

I just FIMmed her a moment ago, hoping to get 4 branches to grow out of the node, sto get some extra cola's instead of one big one.

IMGA0010 (2).JPG

This is just a small hobby/experiment. I've heard mixed reviews of LED lights, but the numbers show that they are pretty efficient compared to other light types. The UFO comes with 3 built in fans, but I took 2 of them out because they were noisy as fuck, I couldn't fall asleep and pretty sure my roommates would hear it. Right now it makes the sound a normal desktop computer makes, so it's pretty stealth. It gets a little warm inside the box, but nothing compared to what CFL used to generate. It allows me to hang it ~10in from the plant, to soak it up with all that light.

Just wanted to start a thread to share with the community, and in case something goes wrong I can have a short medical history for my girl :)

Attached Files: