Starting seeds off for Hydroponic System grow

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by brandon77, Aug 9, 2017.

1. Hi, Im brand new to growing and I've just picked up a 3ft grow cabinet called the Ghost Cabinet Stealth. When starting seeds off, every video I come across is people germinating the seeds with the paper towel method then place the seed into the rockwool or other medium, heres where my question is.. Can you put that rockwool with your newly planted seed and place it straight into a net pot in your hydroponic system? Thats what the instructions say..Everyone seems to use a separate germination kit with a tray and humidity dome to get the plant to sprout, then transfer it to there system. What I'm really asking is do I have to do any of that or can i just fill the basin with good ph water and drop the rockwool directly into the net cups and if so how do I arrange the clay pebbles when there are no roots hanging from the rockwool because the seed was just planted. Any help is greatly appreciated! Sorry if i reek of beginner just trying to pick up a new hobby. Thank You!

2. Your strategy seems reasonable to me, but there are a few things to worry about.
    With the paper towel method you will know quickly whether the seed will germinate. With direct planting, you might not know for a week or longer, and the plant might never sprout.
    The germination chambers provide an easier way to control environment than direct planting, but home internet routers can provide heat too.

Here's one strategy:
    (1) Germinate the seeds using paper towel method, and put each into a pH conditioned rockwool cube.
    (2) Put a 1/2 - 1 inch layer of pellets into the bottoms of the pots
    (3) Set the rockwool cube with sprout on the pellets
    (4) Fill the space between pot and cube with more pellets
    (5) Put a thin layer of pellets on top of the cube, avoiding the plant.