Starting Seeds in DWC??

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by d2ea, May 3, 2011.

1. Ok so I'm dealing with a recirculating DWC system. I'm totally new to hydro so I have a dumb question. Can I start seeds or clones in the netpots of the DWC?

If so what kind of a medium (i.e. rockwool or jiffy cubes) would I use with the hydroton? Also, if I can start them in there, should I have nutrients in the water?

Please if anyone could help I'm gonna be starting a batch soon and don't want any dumb mistakes. lol

Thanks

2. Place them in Rapid Rooters about 1/4 inch deep lightly cover with some of the rooter material , Then place the rooter in a net pot and surround the rooter with hydroton between the rooter and the net pot.

Personally I recommend using a mister/fogger (or use a syringe to keep the rooter moist daily) to get them started in a small sterlite/tupperware container then moving the entire net pop to a larger container when the time is right. I feel the less time the seeds are handled, the better chance of a healthy happy plant

3. First off thanks for the advice Dado. Ok so I would be fine with starting them off in the DWC system though right?

Would I have the netcups submerged a little bit into the water until the roots start to pop out? Of course without submerging the rapid rooter.

Also would I have nutrients in the water as soon as I put the seeds in?

Any further help would be great :smoke:

4. i am very interested in this answer as well please.

5. greennewb: