Starting my seeds

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Dank Dankington, Apr 5, 2016.

1. Can I sprout my germinated seeds under one of these HydroFarm Sun Burst 150 W HPS lights. If I can how far should light be from my seedlings? Light has no glass cover over bulb but it does not make ALOT of heat. Thanks in advance.

Attached Files:

2. I would keep that light about 2ft away from your babies. But I do want to add this... when a plant is very young, from popping out of the ground until it is 4 weeks old, the more focused your light is will create a tighter node plant. A tight node plant has to spend less transportation energy on building root and cellular structure so the plant will grow much faster while also creating a larger nutrient delivery system that help your plant maximize it yield later in it's life. I have been growing for many years and through those years i have learned that using a small light 23w cfl on each of my plants for the first 4 weeks of their life grows the best yielding plants.

• Like Like x 1
  3. I got it at bout a foot away from the plants. Is that too close? So are u saying the HPS is doing it more bad than good?

4. #4 killset, Apr 5, 2016
    Last edited: Apr 5, 2016
    [​IMG]

Get a cool hood or cool tube, set it up right and you can get them super close. I keep my 600watt cool hoods 8" away and they can get closer just in case I'm not paying attention and forget to raise the light

If your plants are handling the heat where the lights at its fine.

• Like Like x 1
  5. Right on! Yeah the sprouts seem to be enjoying n basking in the light so I really don't wanna move light n annoy them. They just broke the soil yesterday

6. pay attention they're seedlings just watch them

• Like Like x 1
  7. I use basically the same set up for veg, except my 150 W self ballasted HPS is made by Sun Systems.