Starting My First Outdoor - ALL ADVICE APPRECIATED

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by mando420, Mar 28, 2011.

1. #1 mando420, Mar 28, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Mar 28, 2011
    Well, I finally achieved my goal for the first half of 2011 and that is becoming a patient, as well as beginning my first grow.

I am looking for basically, the absolute best nutrients/soil/anything else I might need to assist me with my outdoor grow. I have read different opinions from different people, so I am simply going to ask here for the hands down BEST option for me. I live in Las Vegas and the summers here get to 115 F for a few months. Are there any tips you guys can give me for this time period? How often will I be needing to provide them the nutrients? Watering? I am pretty new to this, but I am looking to learn everything the correct way so that I can make this grow worth it. Thanks a ton for any help you guys can throw me, it is always appreciated. For an example of how hot/dry it often gets, I have to water my grass (sprinklers) anywhere from 3-4 times per day to keep it from dying over this span.

2. #2 clodhopper, Mar 28, 2011
    The desert heat is tough. I would go with an equatorial leaning strain that's used to the heat. Hazes usually perform well at those temps, but i would definitely avoid strians from high in the Kush mountains where the plants have evolved to handle cool weather. The highland Afghani's wont like the heat. If you grow a strain with afghani, the lowland affies, kandahar region or lowland pakistani, north indian strains are used to hot temps. Strains that contain Nepalese, kashmir or Hindu kush are off of the table for you. MR.NICE seeds uses lowland affies in their haze crosses and their strains are very high quality.