Starting a garden.

Discussion in 'Gardening' started by bonesaw27, Sep 6, 2011.

1. I recently started growing herb indoors in soil and now absolutely want to start a garden outside for fresh veggies and herbs. Is ant time a good time to start an outdoor garden for tomatoes, various squashes, and peppers, etc? Thanks in advance for any advice and or tips.:D

2. what region do you live?

i live in mississippi and i start my tomatos and other veggies in april...

i'm growing a couple different basil plants outside and they are doing great. im new with herbs so i can't give out any advice ...

3. I live in SoCal area. When do they finish when u start in April?

4. it just depends on what i'm growing...

i have okra that is still putting off some a lil bit. my peas and my beans quit putting off about a month ago. my area has hit its hottest time of year with temps as high as 105 in mississippi heat. it burned my beans and peas up.

i would think with ur weather, u would be able to grow veggies for a good lil while.

5. Cool, thanks for the info:D

6. #6 TexRx, Sep 6, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 6, 2011
    I'm pretty sure there's a few things you can grow in the fall....but you prolly need to get started right away

We have a fall growing season in Texas but I'm not really sure what's on the list ~ I specialize in native plants, not crops/herbs

Try an online search for fall crops/herbs in So. Cal

You can also find info in books ~ for example, I found a book in the Texas section at Barnes & Noble that has a section that lists some crops/herbs that grow where I am located

:)

7. Hey thats a great idea. thanks a bunch

8. Pests in your garden are just that pests. Unwanted insects can eat and destroy their crops, a frustration for any farmer or gardener.