Sprout

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by downsouthgrowin, Mar 28, 2012.

1. Does my sprout in a rockwool cube need lighting right from the start, or do I wait a few days? I'm using a 400w mh and I'm putting my sprout into the rockwool tonight. I have questions about nutrients too, but Ill ask them in the nutrients section.

2. You don't need light until it actually gains exposure to the surface. Then you should keep a good distance from the light to the seedling, farther than the recommendation for mature plants.

3. Do I need to add any nutes to the water in my 5gal bucket system tonight too? The rockwool will be surrounded by hydroton. Do I set my watering timer right from the start too?

4. I grow in soil, no idea on that one.

5. Neither do I man, this is my first time growing hydro. Ive got a pretty good idea what I need to do, but the dude thats helping me with the small things I dont know is out of town til saturday, and Ive got this taproot sprouting out of my Big Bud seed. Ive used soil in the past too, but this BB is supposed to give double the yield when grown hydroponically. It'll be worth it either way.

6. #6 Hank Alvarez, Apr 3, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Apr 3, 2012
    Downsouthgrown: here's how I do it in a nut shell. I start with a dry seed. Stick it into a damp, treated rock wool cube, with a pair of tweezers, pointy end down. Plant it twice as deep as the seed is tall. Whether you make an attempt to cover it up makes no difference as I'm going to keep it in the dark for 24 hours. In that 24 hours it's going to swell and sometimes sprout as it absorbs moisture from the damp cube.

The next day I'm going to put it under a 5,000K T-5 lamp on a schedule of 20 hours on, 4 ours off.