Specious Staminate Flowers?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by SWGreenThumb, Aug 17, 2010.

1. Hey I'm pretty new to the growing scene. This is actually my first indoor grow and I have a little bit of an urgent question about a couple of my babies! (The actual question is near the bottom in bold, in case you want to skip the intro...)

My question is about these supposed "Specious Staminate Flowers" that are mentioned in a quote that seems to be reused on a bunch of websites:

"Please note that occassionally specious staminate flowers will appear in the last days of flowering of a female plant. These do not drop pollen and their appearance is not considered evidence of deleterious hermaphroditism."

I'm growing some clones that I was told would most likely pop "herm" flowers. I recently noticed something that looks out of place on the tops of every one of the buds on my Heavy Duty Fruity's. As far as I can tell from what I know of how male flowers look, they look alot like male flowers. However, they are really small and hard to make out even with a jeweler's loupe...

Unfortunately I lost track of how long I've been flowering for (haha... n00b I guess..) and I'm actually pulling one of my other plants soon. These two plants that have the male flowers (?) don't have any trichomes that are amber, but there are alot of them.

I was hoping to get a little more weight out of these two plants but I'm now thinking I'm going to have to harvest them before they pollinate everyone else who seem to be late flowering... Do any of the more experienced growers here know if there really is such thing as specious staminate flowers? I mean can these male flowers really be "sterile" in other words? Should I not even worry about them dropping pollen?

I'm probably going to yank these plants soon unless anyone is really sure that these flowers won't pollinate!