Some basic hydro help please

Discussion in 'Hydroponic Growing' started by thepreciouslamb, Jan 3, 2012.

1. I'm new to hydro growing, but have grown in soil before. When first introducing the clones into my ebb & flow system, what should the PPM read? I assume I should start w/ a more dilute mixture than the fox farms feeding schedule says. I have the FF nut. trio, beastie bloomz, chaching, & open sesame. Also have Humboldt "Ginormous" & Botanicare "Liquid Karma". Also, what should I keep the pH at? I used to use nutrient solution @ 6.8 for soil growing

2. use half strength first week. Half strength of what ever their lowest mix is. Then use full strength second week.

keep PH between 5.5 and 6.5 with optimal at 5.8-6.0

3. Thanks man, I appreciate the response

4. Full strength nutrients from the word go....calculated risk. 1490 ppm. For me it's payed off.
    No visible distress.

Enjoy

5. i use 5.5 as well giving me around a 5.7-5.8--- general rule of thumb is usually 1/4 the manufactures instructions

.500-.600ec for clones

the next is strain dependent.

.700-.900ec veg or even up to 1.0ec
    flowering 1.1-1.8ec 2.2 max

i dont think i would even go full strength without knowing the ec of any solution. some people use ppm.

6. Yeah I go full strength from the word go too, cause my strain is strong like that. Ive had strains that burned at full strength their first week in veg, thou. Its worth the risk for me to go full strength cause if the plant does like it, it grows like mad that first week.