Soil mix advice

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Cthulhu23, Mar 11, 2020.

1. Hi folks!

I’m new to GC, not new to growing but new to soil and organic growing (Did some hydro grows back in the 1990s).

Wanted to get some feedback on my soil mix. Please bear with me here as I started on this originally using Subcools SuperSoil which, as I’ve learned more, have come to realize isn’t so super!

In any case, I have a “super soil” mix that I’m wondering if I can still use, or if I should just put it in my outside garden and start from scratch. I’m aiming for a living soil, with the eventual goal of moving to no till once I feel like I’ve got the process down better (and have a larger container for the soil).

Should note that this is for an indoor grow in a 4x4x8 tent with 4x HLG QB96 Elite v2 run off of 2x HLG 320h-54 drivers.

Soil Mix:
    1.5cf Roots Organic original mix
    6-8lb EWC
    1.5 cups blood meal
    1.5 cups Happy Frog Cavern Culture
    1 cup fish bone meal
    1 cup alfalfa meal
    1 cup kelp meal
    1 cup muriate of potash*
    6 oz rock phosphate
    2 tbsp dolomite lime
    1/2 cup azomite

I watered this to being “moist” with water that had humid acid dissolved in it, as well as 1 tsp Great White for microorganisms.

This is all cooking right now. But, after more research I’m thinking of adding bio char, neem meal, and some langbeinite*.

My concern is, am I/have I added too many amendments? Should I scrap this and start over, or will this mix work out ok? This mix will go into 20 gallon cloth pots, fyi.

*I have a grow going now with a first attempt at a super soil and have had ongoing problems with potassium deficiency so want to make sure this doesn’t happen again!

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum