So, I wanna get into photography..

Discussion in 'The Artist's Corner' started by Burnoutt, Jan 26, 2012.

1. I've always been intrigued by it. A couple years ago I took a few photography classes in High School, and really enjoyed it. Never really thought anything of it until recently, but I have a sudden urge to get into it.

I'm looking at getting a Canon Rebel XS.. it's only $335 and comes with a standard 18-55mm lens.. seems perfect for starting out.

Only thing is, I'm kind of notorious for "picking up" a hobby and dropping it...

I don't really wanna spend ~$400 to take 50 pictures, and never do it again. What do you guys think?

2. As a hobbyist photographer, I can't recommend shooting enough. It's a great hobby. You can do it by yourself or with friends. There are also so many photography styles that you can play with. You can shoot landscapes, macro, product, portrait, night, infrared, panoramas, street, architecture, rural, etc... Wherever you are, there is always an opportunity to catch a good shot.

However, you should ask yourself a few questions first:
    - Do you have a passion for it?
    - Do you think you could have a passion for it?
    - What are your expectations?
    - Are you willing to dedicate the time needed to improve?
    - What draws you to photography?
    - Is there another hobby in which you could better use this money?
    - Is photography important enough to you to spend a decent amount of money on?

If you have a point and shoot camera (even an awful one), I recommend taking it with you wherever you go. Shoot with it daily. It might help you figure out if you have the passion or not.