So....do all colleges assign housing on a first come, first serve basis?

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by greenghoul, Aug 16, 2012.

1. Hey everyone,

So yesterday I emailed my college asking about my housing information (I was worried since it's mid-August and I still haven't received anything), and they said they were "full, and that I won't get any housing unless people cancel, but I can always send them another email to see if I can stay at a hotel half a mile from campus until a spot opens"....That's fucking bullshit. They said that, although I'm a returning student, I'm getting thrown in with the general population because I didn't send my contract early enough (I sent it a month after it opened, so in March). They said that I should "think of a plan B". Living on campus WAS my plan B, I only sent that god damned contract after I realized how hard it was finding a job, so it would be a fallback point....Now I'm scrambling for a car AND a job to pay for that fucking car/gas/food for the school year because I won't have a mealplan.

I just think this is ridiculous. My college boasts about how fucking awesome they are, and how everyone should live on campus...but they only have 2000 spots. It doesn't help that they've been adding new majors/colleges and building new buildings for them (like a medical school that they just added, I can't even begin to think how many people will be living on campus just for that)....Yet they don't even bother to add a new housing option besides a crappy hotel. I don't want to sleep in spermy sheets for an entire year.

Oh, did I mention that I got a fucking housing scholarship which covered housing plus a bit extra? So yeah, now I have to pay even more out of pocket....

Sorry for the long post, I'm just ranting. That college has brought me nothing but trouble, first it brought me legal trouble...now I might not have a way to further my education....Fuck.