Smart Stoners, check in

Discussion in 'General' started by johnnyv, Oct 26, 2008.

1. #1 johnnyv, Oct 26, 2008
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 26, 2008
    post your GPA and how long you been smoking

smoking: 18 months

GPA: 3.8 unweighted, 4.0 weighted

2. GPA is not at all an accurate measure of intelligence.

3. #3 CaValleySmoker, Oct 26, 2008
    Come on man, you really think GPA is a real gauge of intelligence?

I've been smoking for over 8 years, since I was 13, and I was much smarter than 95% of the kids in my graduating class, and probably never broke B average at best. Anyone can pay attention and do their homework to get an A in the class, even the idiots.

I was socializing with my buddies and maintaining a satisfying social scene after school, meeting girls, playing sports. Not slaving in books to attain some GPA that even your Average Joe can top out on. Much more important IMO.

4. you spelled weighted wrong:p

5. #5 africantapwater, Oct 26, 2008
    Yea, GPA and intelligence aren't really one and the same.

Example:

My graduating high school GPA was higher than only 12 people out of a class of 660, and my current college GPA is sitting at around a 1.8. Those are some pretty abysmal numbers that make me out to be a complete idiot.

However, when I took the SAT's for the first time, with absolutely no effort put into preparation, I scored a 1260 (/1600). I also took an IQ test when I was younger that placed me in the 98th percentile.

So really, GPA shows about how much effort you put into your work. Study hard, turn in all your homework... good GPA.

And I've been smoking for about 5 or 6 years now, during which I attained all of those scores.

6. The 98th percentile, or an IQ of 98? Because IQ scores are meaned at 100 (that is the average), so a score of 100 would be below average :smoke:

however, maybe you meant the 98th percentile out of all people who took an IQ test, which would be like a 115. weird way to present an IQ score though.