Small Batch Dry Sift and Rosin Tech for the everyday user

Discussion in 'Harvesting and Processing Marijuana' started by somedude420420, Apr 15, 2016.

1. Most of the guides online are by growers and usually in "progressive" states or by people who haven't gone beyond hair straighteners. This guide aims to offer the middle ground for users who buy an ounce or less at a time. I've been doing this for several months and my extract lasts me as long as my bags did previously.

Dry Sift
    Dry sifting can be done with all your bags. You don't need a garbage bag of shake and clippings to make it worth it. Most sifting techniques use 1 or more large square framed screens or a motorized tumbler. While the screens aren't terrible expensive, they are a pain to store and keep dust (or cat hair) free. If you are processing less than an ounce you probably don't care about multiple separations of sift. I originally used a pre-framed silk screen from Michael's, but I recently cut it up to use the screen. I used a mason jar with the ring part of the lid, but instead of the metal disc I use a piece of screen. I end up with a Dry Sift Shaker.

1. Break up your bag into flowers, aiming for .1-.3g chunks (1/4" ish to 1/2" diameter usually). Leave all the shake and stems in the mix. I use a sturdy pie tin for this.
    2. Put the broken up bag in a sealed mason jar, then put the dry sift shaker, and the flower jar in the freezer for a bit. This will help those beautiful crystals to break off more easily.
    3. Once they are nice and cold, add flowers to your shaker until it is roughly 1/3 full. I add in a couple of irregular shaped beads from my daughters necklace kit to help agitate the flowers in the next step. I have no idea if this actually helps though.