Slow release Potassium?

Discussion in 'Growing Organic Marijuana' started by Pot.atoFarmer, May 28, 2017.

1. I have done a fair amount of digging into this "no till growing", and keep scratching my head about the no amendment idea. I work on a 300 acre organic farm, so I have a hard time wrapping my head around a 6 plant operation.

As far as I know, Nitrogen and Phosphorus can be released slowly in certain organic fertilizers, but potassium is a little harder to hold on to. I'm no fertility expert, but from what I understand composted food waste can offer some amount of K, and if you have a good CEC, you can get K there, but ALL other forms of potassium are water soluable! Obviously I added plenty of compost (about 1/3 or my total soil), but it's not cutting it.

So my question is this: how do you guys that know what you're doing get 3+ months of growing without amendments without running short on potassium?

I put PLENTY of alfalfa and kelp meal in my soil, but my soil tests still say I'm light on K. I have been getting by with some sulfate of potash which I got from my farm. It's organic, but it's still a salt, so I'm not too happy with it.

Any suggestions would be great.

*Just as a side note: I have seen a few people ask what makes pesticides, amendments, etc. organic or not and I haven't seen the answer I like yet. For a product to be used in truly organic production, it must say OMRI (Organic Materials Review Institute) approved. Simple as that.

2. Potassium sulfate is organic whether OMRI wants to admit it or not.

• Like Like x 1
  3. It IS certified organic, but I personally don't like to use it because it's a salt.

4. The curious thing is, some organic coco growers say they have a problem late in grow of coco accumulating too much K.

5. Greensand is a good slow release of K and works very well with kelp I add it to a fresh mix and it's good for a couple of years. I don't top dress with it or anything.