Size of tent decision. First time grow.

Discussion in 'Grow Room Design/Setup' started by TeejusKhrist, Jun 5, 2017.

1. What's good city members? I'm embarking on my first indoor grow. I've been doing tons of research over the past 4-5 months and am finally getting around to ordering my set-up.

I'm still debating whether to go with 8 plants (soil) under 2 600w's, in an 8x4 tent (32sq ft). Or the other option I've been leaning more towards as of late is 10-12 plants (soil) under 3 600w's, in a 78"x78"x78" tent (roughly 42 sq ft). I was basing my plant numbers off of giving each plant 150w of light. 8 plants is 1200w (2 600's). 10 plants would be 1500w, which makes me feel like I'd have too much light for my babies. That's why I think 12 plants in 42 sq ft with 1800w's of light would be the most efficient. But I'm a noob so this all of speculation and internet/book research.

I intend to start some Big Bud from seed. Planned on vegging for 5-6 weeks. I'm obv trying to maximize my yield, like every gardener ever. Any input would be greatly appreciated. One love.

2. What kind of lighting are u planning on using....and my advice as far as first grow goes is to plant 2 at a time (probably 1 will be male unless using Fem seeds) ...reason being is that it's easier to look after 1 or 2 plants than it is to look after 10 or 12....u will make mistakes, we all did and still do lol.....get comfortable and familiar with the strain and then gradually increase the amount u grow....add a couple every 2 weeks then u have a perpetual grow where u can pull out 2 plants every couple weeks....just my 2 cents

3. It's not watts per plant, it's watts per square foot. If you want very good lighting you're looking at around 40-50 watts per square foot. So you'd want around 1600-2000 watts for 42 sq feet.

Ok..so your estimate was pretty good lol..

I would consider growing less plants than what you were thinking, unless you're possibly going for a SOG..

• Like Like x 1