Shroom help.

Discussion in 'Pandora's Box' started by Mariner rox, Jun 6, 2009.

1. #1 Mariner rox, Jun 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2009
    So I found some shrooms growing by my house after a bit of rain. I'm in Lower Chicago, btw. They were growing underneath and right next to a cut down tree. There was maybe 50-60. I took about 8 or 9. I tried spore printing but they're fragile and break easy. The caps conical and tan-light brown on top and fade to almost white at the bottom. I'd say the diameter of the cap is about an inch and a half to an inch (sorry for my Americanism). The stems are white and maybe 3 inches. The stems are also hollow. They smell exactly like the shrooms you buy and eat. The underside of the caps are black - dark purple and maybe somewhat brown. I have zero experience with shrooms and would like some help. I've thought about shroomery but don't wanna make a new account and everything.

2. well, bruise /crush one. If it turns blue, go to the shroomery and post pictures.
    Just because it bruises blue does not mean its safe, it just means it could easily be magic.

3. If I had a camera, I would've posted pics here. I'm squeezing one right now and it's letting out a bit of water. Doesn't seem to be turning blue. Do they turn blue immediatly?

4. No not immediately, pinch it a bit on the stem and cap and let it sit for a couple mins. Whether it bruises blue is not a direct indication that it's of the psilocybe genus, but can be a good sign.

Spore prints are absolutely vital, as well as pictures before you eat. Even eting so much as one bad shroom can kill you. Worse part is, a lot of poisonous mushrooms don't kill you for up to a month after consumption.. So you wouldn't know you ate the wrong kind until you just start to die..

Please identify before eating!!

5. #5 Mariner rox, Jun 6, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jun 6, 2009