Shoulder pain

Discussion in 'Fitness, Health & Nutrition' started by TwiztidToker24, Dec 16, 2011.

1. So I have been lifting for about 5 months or so now, Im not sure. Anyways recently have had pain in the front of my left shoulder, sort of directly above the creases of my armpit. I feel the pain most when I bench press or do dumbbell flies. Its not horrible but its painful. If I keep lifting I can push through it, which is prlly a bad idea. Anybody know what this could be from and what it is? Also I thought my bench press form was pretty good, maybe not absolutely perfect but still I can't find anything wrong with it except I don't go all the way down to my chest. I go like an inch above because I feel like it strains my shoulders too much if i go to far down. Dumbbell flies on the other hand Im not sure about my form. Its probably wrong even though I have been shown how to do them. Any thoughts?

2. Is there any deformity in the shoulder? Any bones out of place?
    If overhead movements hurt, it might be an AC separation.

[​IMG]

Or it could just be muscle strain on your front delts. I would stop exercising for a few days and if the pain persists, seek information from a better source.

Good luck!

• Like Like x 1
  3. +rep for the advice.

I also have the same problem, in the exact same position, that starts on the exact same exercises. It also plays up a bit when I do chest dips.

4. well first off are you doing any mobility/stretching prior to lifting? It can usually be basic shit like that which affects you.

5. Care to give some examples? I kinda do arm swings where you rotate your arm around your shoulders in both directions, dunno if that's what you meant though.

6. Yeah do some lat shrugs and shoulder stretches with a band. Ask someone who works at your gym to show you the proper form for the stretches though.

7. #7 infiniteawesome, Dec 25, 2011
    Last edited by a moderator: Dec 25, 2011