shopping list for grow closet. help plz lol

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by lar20, May 25, 2009.

1. hey all i plan on starting a grow closet for 1 or 2 plants and was wondering if this is a good shopping list to start one.

1}1 gallon pots

2}worm castings

3}some type of growing soil (recommendations?)

4}small table

5}spray bottle

6}extra nutes (what are some good ones?)

7}clippers

8}4 cool and 4 warm flouresent lights (is this enough?)

9}some type of lamps for the lights (do i need a special kind and will it plug into an outlet?)

10}extention cord

11}magnfying glass

12}ph/ec and temp/humidity monitoring equipment

13}carbon filter (will it stop smell completely? nobody in the house can know about the grow so i need it to be odorless)

2. anybody? lol

3. 1) 1 Gallon might be a little bit too small. Try to opt for something bigger

3) Check the absolute beginner's section for soil mixes. I use a 60-40 mix of compost and local soil. You can also add some perlite/vermiculite if you like.

6) There are many different kinds of nutes. Check NPK ratio and ask the other members, I'm not too advanced with nutes.

8) Try to opt for Daylight (6500K) for vegging and 2700K for flowering (= Warm White). As a general rule, 100Watts of CFL is the minimum for a plant. You can start off with a lot less than that when its still small but no part of the plant must be left in the dark.

9) These bulbs plug into standard light holders. You can build your own using a light holder, some 2 core wire, and a socket.

12) Ph needent be advanced: most people use litnus paper. Temperature and humidity monitoring equipement is a good idea. I've just ordered a digital hygrometer/thermometer from eBay for 10 bucks inc P&P.

13) Carbon filters are great. you should definately inverst in one.

You have forgotten several items:

14) Oscillating fan, to cool the lamps and strenghten the plant by mimicing wind