Shopping for LED lights

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by momocalm420, May 31, 2010.

1. Hello everyone,

I am starting an indoor garden over the summer. This is my first time growing bud, but I have some good experience with plants outside and I have some basic knowledge of Botany.

My main concern of course is the lighting. I am very attracted to LED lighting for many reasons. No need for a cooling system, compactness, more efficient lighting (all light has known wavelengths that our plants love!), and of course less wattage. All of these reasons favor me economically, make security/stealthfulness much easier, and most importantly it is safer.

My problem is that everyone says different things about different LED lights, mainly the square footage. I have a 7x7 foot room to grow in, and about a 4 or 5 foot square designated for plant space, so what is the optimum lighting system for me? I am inclined to get Illuminator's 90W UFO system (not an ebay knockoff), but I do not want to invest my money and time in something that will not work.

I have heard many people discuss on various forums about LED lighting, and I see some people are using hundreds of watts in replacement of an HID HPS/MH system. To me this seems crazy, because isn't the point of LED lighting power efficiency? If I use multiple LED lights and end up using 200-400 W of electrical power, then what is the point (in terms of efficiency) of choosing that over a good 400W HPS system that I know can cover the space I need.

I know this has been a long post, but please, anybody with experience using LED grow lights, share your experiences. As I mentioned earlier, I really want to invest in quality LED lighting over HID lighting, but of course cost is important to me, so I really want to make the right investment.

Thank you very much,

Keep on vaping and eating that ganja,:smoking: