Shall I, or Shant I?

Discussion in 'Real Life Stories' started by Perihelion, Nov 28, 2008.

1. ***QUICK VERSION - I LIKE TO SMOKE WEED. MY FATHER NEVER HAS. MY FATHER AND I SHARE A GREAT APPRECIATION FOR MUSIC FROM THE PSYCHEDELIC ERA. HE HAS NOT EXPERIENCED ALL HIS FAVOURITE TRIPPY SONGS LIKE I HAVE. I WANT TO GET HIGH WITH HIM AND JAM OUT. SHOULD I ASK HIM?***

Long Version:
    So I've been smoking for almost 4 years now, and as you all probably understand, I appreciate, understand and enjoy the effects of marijuana. Now, only recently have my parents finally accepted my smoking the wonderful plant. My father never had a problem with it, but would always back up my mother in a very passive way.
    Now, a little background on my dad. He's probably the best man I have ever met.
    When my brother, and then I, were born he was a stay at home father so that my mother could work. He is really easygoing, amazingly intelligent, has tonnes of cool hobbies, and can tell you just about anything about music between the late 60's - early 80's. This era was the psychedelic era of music, and he and I often enjoy listening to music together. Sorry for ranting about how awesome my father is:smoke:

Now, here comes the dilemma. He has never smoked pot. This may sound petty, but it is something I really want him to experience. Despite his already massive appreciation for some of the greatest bands of all time (Yes, ELP, etc.) I don't feel he has experienced any of his favourite music the same way I have; HIGH AS A KITE.

So, basically the advice I'm looking for is: Should I ask my father to get high with me and listen to our favourite music together? Or do you think his 52 years of life have provided him with enough opportunity to do so already, if he had wanted to?

Looking back on what I just wrote I'm sure you all probably don't want to read it.