Sexing methods before pre-flowers show

Discussion in 'Cannabis Breeding' started by Raw Basix, Nov 4, 2016.

1. Hey there,
    First off, i'm sorry i'm new to GC and i didn't know where exactly to post this thread, so if there already is thread like this or it should be somewhere else, please let a stoner know

Now, i'm just curious as to anyone's experience with sexing plants before pre-flowers show.

My neighbour, a full blown nazarite rasta who has been planting since he was 4 years old ( i live in the mountains in a small tropical island), told me there are a few ways to tell without pre-flowers showing, namely:

All the nodes(side branches) are spaced a lot further apart from each other on males compared to females
    the female leaves are more zig-zaggy and pointy compared to male leaves

And he says he also sexes by seeds:
    He said that female seeds have a big depression like a crater at the round end of the seed compared to males and that either the female or male seed has a white-ish line going down the side edge of the seed (i got it mixed up and forgot which one excuse me)
    Interestingly enough, i was searching online a bit after he said that and found this(check attachment)

So yeah i was just wondering if anyone has heard of these methods, use them etc or what your guys take is on this shit. It seems to work for him, cz he showed me one of his plantations 2weeks old and then 4 weeks into flowering, and all female from the get go...
    Or maybe it's the certain strain of weed? I live at the equator and nearly all local weed is either pure sativa or Sativa Dom (except for my weed, only proper indica in a whole country haha ) and his seems to be pure sativa (aver. about 10-14feet, some maybe 16 and took 6 and a half months til harvest!!!) but i cant really take my phone for pics cz its rough terrain getting there, climbing cliffs and swimming through rivers and shit...anyway...cheers for any input, peace

Attached Files:

• Like Like x 2