sensory deprivation

Discussion in 'General' started by WhiskeyBits, Oct 12, 2012.

1. So, I was going to put this in "religion" but its not necessarily a religious topic, then I was going to put this in "health and fitness" but its not totally about physical health either...so, its going in "general". If it belongs somewhere else, feel free to move it.

Anyway, I've been practicing regular meditation for a few months now and I just had a friend of mine suggest a sensory deprivation tank. The whole idea is a little nervewracking to me but apparently, its supposed to be an incredible experience and supposedly help my focus. So, I've been signed up for two sessions in the next few weeks (she told me that I should have at least two, once to get used to the idea and the second to truly experience the therapeutic effects)

My question is, has anyone tried sensory deprivation therapy? What was your experience like? How did you feel afterwards? Did you feel the cathartic effects after the first session? Would you do it again?

Thanks a ton!

2. im curious about this as well

how much do it cost op?

3. From what I understand, its about $60/hr. But this is CA so its probably less in other areas.

For my two sessions, its $120. The first is a 90min session and the second is a 60min. I got a deal for booking both sessions at once (and I get a punch card so the 6th one is free, lol). Every session also includes an hour for decompression/meditation/journalling/ quiet time on the estate afterwards and time to take showers. So, about $60/3hrs or so.

4. #4 TesseLated, Oct 12, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: Oct 12, 2012
    Id love to do it.....Thought it'd be more expensive than that.....

Joe Rogan has quite a bit to say on biofeedback tanks....Check him out

[ame=http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=KeqmKwsvM58]The Sensory Deprivation Tank - Joe Rogan - YouTube[/ame]

*Pretty good vid even if you dont like Rogan...lol

5. this is extremely interesting... subbed