Sensi Seeds Jack Flash #5 CFL/LED Grow

Discussion in 'Indoor Grow Journals' started by vipergts2207, Dec 26, 2018.

1. #1 vipergts2207, Dec 26, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 26, 2018
    Day 1: 12/25/18

Short backstory, I've grown half a dozen or so times in my life and the last time I grew was about 6 years ago. Shortly after my last grow I graduated from college and got a new job where, due to drug testing policy, my ability to smoke dropped significantly and I'm just now going to be finishing off that weed in a few weeks or maybe months. That being the case, I decided it was time to fire up the lights once again. I also had a grow journal here on GC for that grow as well. It was Jack Flash #5 and Arjan's Strawberry Haze. The Jack Flash was great stuff; wasn't too impressed with the Strawberry Haze.

This time I'm going to be growing solely Sensi Seeds Jack Flash #5, two plants. These are actually from the same pack of seeds as when I had grown 6 years ago, and I'm surprised they actually popped after this long.

In the picture below you can see what I'm using for this grow.

[​IMG]

I'm going to be using a 42 watt CFL in a reflector over each plant and additional 26 W CFLs as side lighting. As the side light CFLs eventually burn out in this grow or a future one, I plan on replacing them with 17 W GE HD Refresh (5000 K) and GE HD Relax (2700 K) LED lights. They put out about the same lumens, but use much less electricity. The bulbs in the reflectors will remain CFLs, as I can't find E26 base LEDs that put out even close to the same lumens. For soil I'm doing Fox Farm's Ocean Forest, vermiculite, and perlite in a 6:1:3 blend ratio. For nutes, I'm trying Fox Farm's Gringo Rasta three-part system. In the past I used their Grow Big/Big Bloom/Tiger Bloom system, but this Gringo Rasta stuff seems to be specifically formulated for marijuana, at least that's what the marketing would lead me to believe.

[​IMG]