Seeking advice to become successful

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by madeofwar, Nov 15, 2011.

1. So i've read up on almost all of the lighting articles on here but still can't find the exact answer's im looking for, im fairly new to growing merj, My first attempt was out of curiousity about 3 years ago, i tried growing in a tackle box.. obviously not possible. But recently ive become addicted to the aspect's of growing, smoking your own hard work, i dream of the day. Ive come really close 3 times now to seeing bud. I purchased bubbleicious seeds and widow skunk, the bubble grew to about a foot, 30 days old... but it seemed like it wasnt going to last so i just cut it down and threw it away. Im growing with a 13W flourecent bulb, ive tried to find out if this is enough to get me the result's im looking for, but never got exact answer's. It says in small print on the bulb, 10k, i'm assuming thats lumens but that seems kind of high considering its only 13W, this is running thru a basic walmart desk lamp. Im currently starting over after giving up on the other plant's. They seemed to grow extremely slow, and i was failing to keep up with the light schedule. So now im germinating 2 bag seeds in a petridish like container, im experienced enough to successfully germinate everytime, i always have a surviving plant but i want to know how to properly use lights. So my questions being, Is the 13w bulb enough to get me through veg stage?, will I need to change to something stronger once i am ready to flower?.. I'm very basic with my growing, but i don't want to be, I simply use a cut in half powerade bottle to start of a good root system, then slowly step up the size to prevent the plant from stressing out, I dont have timed lighting but im going to get myself a basic light timer this time. I don't use nutrients because i feel that theyre harmful to the final product, but im starting to think of trying it. I use miracle gro with intergrated plant food,