Seeds Won't germinate

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by DoinOtherThings, Jul 29, 2010.

1. Hey Guys/Gals

I'm new to smoking, growin and new to the forum so I just wanted to say hello and ask for some words of wisdom.

I found 2 bag seeds in my stash and I wanted to see if I could grow. I have been using the wet paper towel method with distilled water for 2+weeks now with no signs of life.

I fear that these seeds are dead but I wanted to ask what would be the next best step to get these guys to spring to life after being moist for that long.

I know there are how tos all over the site but i didn't know if there are any special considerations to be taken because the paper towel method isn't working.

Also what would be my best option if these seeds are dead? Should I order some or just see if I can find some more bag seed since this is my first grow?

Thanks in advanced for your help

2. Try placing them near a heatsource or keep them warm somehow. They should spring to life if warm enough. Some strains need 80+ F temps to germinate. Do not go over 90 degrees though.

If they don't pop with the added heat, then they most likely never will.

If you got the cash, buy some seeds online that fit your taste and growspace etc. If not, bagseed is perfect for beginners :)

3. try putting them on top of your dryer, or router.. it's what I did, and it got things going.

4. On top of the Router thats great I never thought about that.

Thanks for the tips I'll try throwing some warmth to them and see what happens.

5. I've only germinated bag seeds and I have almost a perfect germ rate. I don't do anything special. I just drop the seeds into a ceramic mug of tap water and leave in darkness for around 24 hrs. After that, I put them in peat starters. I don't understand all these complicated methods, but maybe if I had some chronic seeds, I'd be more careful too.