Seedlings won't grow!

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Adam0173, Mar 4, 2013.

1. So I am completely new to this and am wondering what is going wrong with my seedlings. I germinated the seeds and put them in soil in red plastic cups. The soil I am using is Pro Mix Ultimate Organic. I have the cups inside a grow tent under a 400w metal halide bulb, suspended about 3 feet above them.

The first couple of seeds I germinated sprouted, but died almost immediately after sprouting out of the soil, and the two seeds I planted a few days ago haven't sprouted at all.

What's wrong? Is it the light? Is it the soil? Is it my pH level? I haven't checked my pH level, but that was going to be my next step in trying to figure this out. I don't think I'm over- or under-watering them, so I'm not sure what else to think. I've read that they should be placed under CFL lights initially, but I've also read that it doesn't really matter.

Any thoughts and input would be appreciated.

Also, what is the success rate that people should have when planting their seeds? Is it common to only successfully grow a fraction of the seeds you plant?

Thanks for any input!

2. could be too intense of a light for them. do a search on seedlings "damping off"

3. Try molesting the seeds before planting them.

4. once your seed pops or germinates like you have explained, then you put them in there medium water them in and leave them alone in the dark until they brake the surface,, well thats what I do but lights arent so important just now, warmth humidity and yeah darkness is what they want, id check your ph and check that stuff your using isnt too hot for them,, no idea what molesting is about thats wierd. If u follow them steps with a neutral medium then they will be as happy as they can, happier than Larry. once you see the seed split and a bit of the yellow or whitesh cotyledon is visable, give it light then and itl go green green and grow, hope that helps, take it easy