SCROG with Magnets. Opinions?

Discussion in 'Plant Training' started by Bumbaclat, Aug 10, 2012.

1. Hello all. I'm using a BCNL Producer and I'm definitely going to scrog it (grow journal link at bottom of page). I'll demonstrate what I've done.

These go on the outside of my box as a back for the magnet. They are held in place solely with magnetic force.

[​IMG]

These are the magnets on the inside of the box. They seem to attach with considerable force when they connect. I've glued hooks to each of them.

[​IMG]

This is what happens when I used a net that was a little too big for my dimensions

[​IMG]

I cut out one square and this is the result. A tighter net

[​IMG]

I think I already know the answer but I want to go with a tighter net, correct?

What do you think of the magnets, is this a viable plan for growing with a scrog?

My trellis hole size is 4.75" by 5.5". Too big?

I am new to scrog but not to growing.

2. Hey BumbaClat, I myself would use a solid screen.. That net is not going to do anything whatsoever.. Maybe if you could get a metal cage (screen) cut to size, something with a bit of weight so your plants cant lift it and somehow rest the metal screen on top of the magnets.. I don't know how strong your magnets are you might have to add a heap more..

3. The purpose of the scrog screen is to kind of guide and hold your plants. As the plants get big they can honestly move mountains its amazing how much force they start exerting on the net. I think the magnets would be good when there young to train them down or wide or what ever the goal is. For a scrog screen though I think the plants are just going to move your magnets up as they want to.

4. Hey Bumbaclat, I was looking over your situation as something that will be confronting me very soon.

Taking the basic setup that you already have in place, are you familiar with split shot weights used in fishing?