Round Leaves?

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by Sovay, Jul 16, 2009.

1. #1 Sovay, Jul 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 18, 2009
    ------Update at the end of the page :) ------

Me again!
    I'm on my second round of seeds, and these have been going for perhaps two weeks or so. I've had them outside (in the tennessee sun) until I got my lighting system set up (metal halides for veg, sodium for flowering) The leaves are looking lovely and green, but at this point the little round seedling leaves are beginning to yellow. Is this ok? if not then what should I do about it? Do they need more/less light/water? I have them in plain organic soil at the moment, when should I give them a soil upgrade?
    Sorry for all the questions, I'm a total newb in this :)[​IMG]

2. think it looks small for 2 weeks, can u give more info on lights etc watts? how often do u water? have u used nutes yet? as its bit early id say if u have

3. The round first leaves (cotyledons) will yellow and die off. A lot of growers take this to mean it's time to give them their first (light) feeding of nutrients.

4. Cotyledons supply the plant with sugars until the serrated leaves take over. Then they can die off.

5. #5 Sovay, Jul 16, 2009
    Last edited by a moderator: Jul 16, 2009
    As I said in my OP, they have been in natural sunlight until now. They were very slow getting going because of my paranoia. I killed my first seedlings somehow and so with these I kept them in a light place outside, but out of direct sunlight. They've only been going out in direct sun for the past week. They haven't been given anything except plain organic soil yet, but I do have two composters in my yard so plenty of fresh rich compost if that's good.

I water via misting several times a day, when the soil looks dry.

FenceWalker & cantharis;