root rot. need help

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by Burner919, Feb 9, 2014.

1. Hello all!!!

I have been growing for several years, but I recently made several changes in my methods, trying to make improvements.

Im basically trying to grow organic in hydro. This has caused some major problems.

I recently launched a major campaign to rid my garden of some unwanted pests. shore flys, fungus gnats and spider mites were all present. I have not yet won this war. But i have won several battles in this campaign.

My plants are now showing signs of Pythium or root rot and im out of ideas on how to combat this pathogen.

I will kill the bugs, that is not the problem... but this root rot is choking the life out of my girls.

This run was set with the goals to study cloning and try my hand at it. I have now forced my plants to revert several times and remain in a vegatative state for almost one year now.

The two original plants from seed are long gone, chopped 100% for the first cloner test. but I now have 5 (2nd generation) mothers in hydro buckets, 12 (3rd generation) clones in hydro tubs and 13 in plastic cups w dirt, plus 20 more 3rd gens that are ready to be taken from the cloners and planted in dirt cups. I also took the best of the best from each set, and started 2 new mothers in a new system, as i am going to bloom out the 2nd generaton mothers soon, because they are getting too difficult to work with for cloning.

I have been working on my cloning method all year. and now, 347 days into this... i cant just scrap this run because of a pathogen but dont want to allow a bloom cycle until i see healthy plants in all of my systems.

The systems are somewhat isolated from each other, but they share a common fill/drain line and often share their mix.

I could get technical with the homemade design for all of the systems, but i have rambled on for quite long enough.

Root rot is the problem. and my question is how do i combat this Pythium?