Root issues??

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by Skip I am, Dec 14, 2018.

1. #1 Skip I am, Dec 14, 2018
    Last edited: Dec 14, 2018
    I've only got one season under my belt and this just feels like root problems. This is organic soil, only the below nutes have been added. pH runoff tests at exactly 6.0. I had a fungus gnat problem so I first sprayed the soil surface with neem oil then top dressed with neem seed meal with a light dressing of insect frass as well. Nothing further. This was done about 3 days ago so it's possible the problem has been fixed and it will just take a little while to recover but I'm not experienced enough to know for certain. The soil does have plenty of perlite in it. It's not visible due to the top dressing of neem meal and insect frass. Always water following the weight and feel method. Just another clue that if it's a root issue it's from the fungus gnat larvae feasting on my roots. The single leaf pic looks like a potassium deficiency imo but i feel like this could also be a side effect of a root issue as well. 20181213_171313.jpg 20181213_171257.jpg 20181213_170123.jpg

Sent from my SM-N960U using Grasscity Forum mobile app

2. I've seen that leaf edge discoloration on outdoor plants, when I didn't add dolomite lime to the soil a head of time.
    But it would only be evident during early vegetative growth, then as summer progressed, it seemed to clear up. I was using a pretty heavy horse manure application as a soil amendment, and wondered about a possible soil fungus as cause as well.

• Like Like x 1
  3. Dolomite corrects the pH. So I would assume it is then likely actually a pH issue. I have not been adjusting the pH in my water. I tested the run off and its testing at 6.0, out of the tap its 8.8-9.1. Last season I always pH'd my water but was trying to lean on the soil to buffer it for me this time around.

4. You’re putting 9 ph water in and getting 6.0 at runoff?