Rooftop grow journal

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by slightlysticky, May 11, 2016.

1. Late start to getting a journal started. I'm a noob with a lot of research and reading rattling around in my brain. My first plan was to go spacebucket in the garage... and then things came up and now I'm growing on my roof. For me, this is an experiment to see if moving to the roof to chase the best sun on my property is worth the general headache of gardening two stories up. I'm in southern California and I'm shooting for a low maintence, simple and clean grow.

The Ladies:
    I'm growing a fun mixture of clones from (do I put the name? is that a thing?). Gorilla Glue #4, Lemon Haze, Bruce Banner #3, XXX and Black Lime Reserve. The GG4s are a few weeks older than the rest and so far healthiest of the lot. Here's the first day upstairs after a week in my hilly, shaded backyard being miserable.

2016-05-01 16.39.14.jpg
    It's hot up there, morning and evening tending only.

2016-05-07 12.55.49.jpg 2016-05-07 12.56.18.jpg 2016-05-07 12.57.45.jpg 2016-05-07 12.58.07.jpg 2016-05-07 12.58.16.jpg 2016-05-07 12.58.25.jpg
    The lineup as of 05/07/16. I think everyone got a top that day.

The Setup:
    So far the endgame is to have a hands off watering system at it's core. For now I have this janky setup with a bunch of consumer dripper parts from DomeHepot piped up a skinny drip line to the roof. You can probably see the frankenbeast in the top pic. Additionally, I need to get them raised off the roof surface to protect both. I have this wild idea of using wood palettes and kiddie pools. The current system requires a lot of tinkering, and I want to make as few trips as possible up there, which lead me to thinking about a SIP setup.

I'm conversing with the folks in the SoCal Growers Unite thread and I'm starting to plan out a perlite SIP. I think this first plan is a bit much, but hopefully it illustrates the dream.