Revenge of the Clones

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Outdoors' started by All4fun2, Aug 25, 2017.

1. Is it just me or are plants grown from seed just more robust than clones? I'm a relative beginner and have now grown twice outdoors. The first time I grew a couple clones. This time I'm growing 6 plants from seed. What a difference. The clones always had insects or caterpillars attacking them. The plants from seed are much more insect resistant and generally heartier. Is this an anomaly or is this normal?

2. Plants grown from seeds are way more robust than clones but I don't know about being any more insect resistant. I think that there are other factors involved with your grow regarding less insect damage.

3. Everything you said is true.

Most clones are 20 year old plants that have been abused along the way. A perfect grow depends on the first month much more than people understand. The first month of root growth in a seed compared to a clone is a joke. Then with a bigger root base, the seed plant takes off and never looks back.

4. Since I began using Silca..I have had no trouble with pests:) (Soil)
    My own GDP clone..Mama is from seed ! (clone is about 5 wks old..when taken, mama was 6 weeks old from seed)
    Clone has been just as robust as her mom..takes a lot of abuse well. (I mean Topping, super cropping etc..LOL)
    8-19-17 full recovery.jpg

• Like Like x 1
  5. Help me understand how a plant grown from a seed is more insect resistant than a clone.

6. The only difference I could tell was that a clone has no tap root, yes??