Response to letter from senator

Discussion in 'Marijuana Legalization' started by Micahsk, Nov 4, 2011.

1. So I finally got a response to letters I've been sending to my senators. Its what I expected just a lot of false fallacies. well here it is..

Dear Mr. MicahSK,

Thank you for writing to express your support for the legalization of marijuana. It is good to hear from you.

I appreciate your thoughtful views on this issue and will certainly take them into account. This is unfortunately an issue where we disagree though. As a practicing physician, I oppose the legalization of marijuana based upon sound public health factors. The medical literature continues to show that marijuana is not safe and effective for medical use and that safer alternatives exist.

In 2001, the Department of Health and Human Services (HHS) completed an extensive analysis in response to a request to reschedule marijuana to a less restrictive narcotics schedule. After looking at all the relevant data on marijuana, HHS concluded that the weight of the scientific evidence supported the findings that marijuana should continue to be scheduled as Schedule I because it has a high potential for abuse, no currently accepted medical use in the United States, and a lack of accepted evidence about the safety of using marijuana under medical supervision.