Remote Monitoring My Grow

Discussion in 'Silicon (v)Alley' started by DoctorDankenstein, May 30, 2012.

1. #1 DoctorDankenstein, May 30, 2012
    Last edited by a moderator: May 30, 2012
    Hey everyone. I'm a web developer and an indoor gardening enthusiast. I've recently been concerned about security of my grow and have been problem solving ways to add more security to my operation. I'll lay out the full plan.

I'm really excited to tell you about the first part, which is already done. Using Adobe's Flash Media Server ($5/month from Amazon Web Services) I created an Adobe AIR application that runs on my Android phone that lets me view a webcam I have running at home. It's a very basic application, it's simply a white background that displays a video. I plan on adding some dialogues that will display connection details and allow for viewing multiple cameras in the future. I will post screenshots when it's done.

This was extremely easy to do. I've never worked with AWS but there were tutorials to guide me. It wouldn't be too hard for me to add some features to the app so that anyone could connect to their own server. If there's enough interest I could be persuaded.

The next part is what I'm most excited about, but it's also more challenging. I'd like to purchase an Arduino microcontroller and using the Flash platform create an application that allows me to monitor the temperature, whether lights are on or off, and provide an emergency shut off feature all from the same AIR app that's showing me a live video feed on my phone. I can't think of anything else I would want to do with the arduino board.

Any of you nerds have any experience with Arduino or the Flash platform?

Attached Files:

2. the only thing i can suggest is to look heavily into the API for it. i have a friend who's done something similar with his coffee maker and a kegerator

3. Just getting into the Arduino.