Reggae music?? anyone??

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by Lil' Fink, Dec 17, 2008.

1. I am a man of many influences.

But reggae always did it for me..

maybe not what most would consider reggae..

but hey..

I grew listening to tom petty, tha stones, beatles, bowie, zz top, doors, all that rock n roll my dad had me doin.

Then i got into punk rock when i started playing guitar.

then like.. things changed with me.. i started smokin a grip and listening to rap.

cause punkers talk about like, beer and crack..

rappers do like, weed and money.

not new club shit.

olde school.

bone, biggie, pac, wutang, brotha lynch, eZe, too short.

then sublime and bob marley came

and i picked up me guitar again.

doin reggae covers, mixed with olde school punk, and styled like tha gangsters do.

oh man..

then came mac dre, at the best time.

so... thats a lil of my music history.

how about tha rest of you?

how did music develop within you?

introduce youSELFS

2. Almost nothing better than a fat reggae bass line and some soulful lyrics to brighten up the mood.

Anyways... as to how my musical tastes have developed:

I heard a lot of Clapton, ZZ Top, Willie Nelson, Neil Young, Allman Brothers, etc. growing up... my dad is a musician and was in a country-jam-bluegrass band back in the 60's.

I started listening to rap and hip hop as a young kid... but grew apart from that as a teenager. The band that really changed my perspective on music was 311. They made me want to hear more and more alternative rock and such.

My love of 311 led me to find many many different styles of music... including Reggae, funk, jazz...

After playing music for a few years (bass and guitar), my musical tastes have developed to include lots of other stuff.

Now, I'm into lots of stuff -- oldies, new stuff, jam bands, Andy McKee, anything that brings pleasure to my ears.... I don't discriminate like I once did.

3. good shit man. i feel 311 got you tha same way sublime got me.