Recording software??

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by CosmicSerpent, Oct 26, 2007.

1. So I'm a guitarist and I used to be in a band, but now that I'm in college I don't have as much time to devote to playing music. I still like to jam and write songs, but it's mostly by myself. Therefore I want to find a way to record songs in my spare time. I have tons of ideas floating around, but no way to express them because I can record multiple tracks and overdub stuff. I have a PC, but I don't really have any experience with recording software. I've used Garage Band on a friend's Mac and I like how easy it is to use... plus you can make pretty good sounding songs with just an open mic and the computerized instruments that they have. I'd like to have something like this on my PC so I can do the same. I've got Sony Acid Pro from a friend, but I tried to mess around with it, and I don't even have the first clue as to how to use it. So are there any simpler programs out there or some kind of guide I could read to get me started? I'm not looking to make super professional recordings, just something listenable. And unfortunately I'll probably just be using a regular PC mic to record until I can afford some kind of USB audio interface. Can someone lead me in the right direction?

2. A programme called Fruitloops is pretty good man. Its like Garage Bands in the way you can make songs with the pre-made instrument banks. Theres a little keyboard interface on there so you can use your computer keyboard like a real keyboard and im pretty sure you can close-mic a guitar with good sound quality, its been a while since i've used it thats why I say im pretty sure because I cant remember how good the quality was but I remember it being good enough to record demos and stuff. Hope this helps you out man.