Random: So Im an HFA (High Functioning Alcoholic)

Discussion in 'General' started by As Above So Below, May 14, 2013.

1. So I recently got out of the denial phase. I have been drinking alcohol for many years and I now know that I am a High Functioning Alcoholic. I have been getting drunk for the last 15 days (tonight included). It is mostly by myself with the exception of Friday and Saturdays when I host a party. When I am by myself I drink Steel Reserve. I don't get so drunk that I black out, I get a good buzz going, usually just one Steel Reserve. But lately it has been progressing to more. One night I drank 3 of these and I was still able to go to work at 8AM the next day and perform just as well as usual. Tonight I am on my second SR and I have had plenty to eat and enough water so I feel fine. There really isn't a point to this thread, just hoping for some general views. I know this won't get a lot of attention since it isn't about weed. 

I was just wondering if anyone else is the same? I quit smoking weed and instead replaced it with alcohol. I am always replacing it with something. If I quit smoking weed and stop drinking I try other things. Which isn't good. I have such a great life right now but since I moved out it's been really hard to control my consumption, especially since I have 2 liquor stores within a 5 minute walk from my house. 

Like I said, no real point, but does anyone have any insight or advice? I always say I will try out some AA meetings but it never happens. My family is aware of the situation but it hasn't gotten that bad (to them). But I feel like if I keep it up something really bad will happen. 

I have so much going for me that I just don't know why I drink and do so many drugs. Maybe I need to see a therapist? 

Thanks GC, I've been around here for awhile and it took a lot to post this. As you can imagine, I have had 1 and a half SR's =/

• Like Like x 1