questions on first grow

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by 410smoke, Sep 14, 2013.

1. as title states this is going to be my first grow.  my grow room setup is 4 feet wide by 6 feet long by 6.3 feet high... i am wondering what would be the best setup for lights, how many plants i can fit in this space and what style of growing this space is best suited for (i.e. scog, sog, normal) or any other tips that might come in handy.. 

Thanks 

2. hi i'm no pro but i'll try my best to help you out and hopefully others will come in with a little more experience, starting with lighting for that space a 600w would be ok, but imo id go with 1000w mh bulb for veg and hps bulb for flowering, as for how many plants i would go for 9 plants and go with a scrog grow with topping and fimming to get the best out of them. if you do go with 1000w you will need good extraction and intake maybe even a cooltube as they do get HOT!.

3. Your first grow will be a learning experience, so its better to grow untrained plants in organic soil.
    The easier the better

Your light choice depends on your temps. Heat 400<600<1000
    You max temp is 80F...so if you dont have adequate ventilation, even a 400 would be too hot.

Ofcourse, the higher the wattage, the higher the yield. But thats not the only factor in yield. If you cant maintain temps, youll get crap bud.
    Same with the choice of soil.

You have a total of 24sq ft area.
    A 1000w is ideal, 600w is good, 400 good for a 3x3.
    Reserve 2sqft for each plant, and you could grow a max of 12.
    But dont do that.
    Start with 2-4 plants...see how it goes.
    Youll get a fair idea of how much work this entails and you can choose to add more plants in your second grow.

4. Oh my.. So many ppl so quick to tell newbies to jump on board with HPS.
    HPS burns incredibly hot.
    To run successfully, you will most likely need a LEGIT grow setup, consisting of exhaust fans, ducting, and all that jazz.