Questions About Music Production

Discussion in 'Music genres, Bands and Artists' started by Skraggz, Sep 8, 2007.

1. Ok im no expert but i have been producing and composing music for like the last 7 - 8 years, any questions you want to ask about music production or music composition, any thing at all, just post it here and ill try my best to answer and plus any other musicians/producers out ther feel free to post your answers up too cyaz

2. got anything to listen too:smoking:

3. First things first, understand that I'm working with like the worst recording set-up possible. I've got Cakewalk 3, a stock audio card in my laptop and a RadioShack microphone (done laughing? okay, I'll wait...)

For now, I'm recording my backing tracks using drum rhythms from my keyboard, but when I play them back in Cakewalk, they're flat and slightly muffled. I've been using an overdrive filter and a parametric EQ to punch up the snare and cymbals a little and reduce the 60hz hum, but is there anything else I could conceivably do (without upgrading or changing my equipment) to give the drums a little more clarity?

ETA: If it makes any difference at all, I play blues/rock and on top of the drums there is usually bass and two guitars and sometimes organ