Question on root bound

Discussion in 'Sick Plants and Problems' started by XxNosferatu, Sep 25, 2010.

1. #1 XxNosferatu, Sep 25, 2010
    Last edited by a moderator: Sep 25, 2010
    Before anyone says anything, i searched and couldn't find anything.
    I'm having a really big problem with my plants. Outdoor, 5 gallon buckets, about 4 weeks into flowering I'd say.
    Now the problem is the leaves are turning a rust color (not yellow but rusty) and the plant is dieing from the top down. Yes, top, not bottom. Also, they're drying up and dieing, but only secondaries, the main colas are still intact thus far.
    Can anyone direct me to a few pictures or whatnot of root bound symptoms? So far that answer is my prime suspect.
    Trying to get everything i can out of these four but it's my first grow so I'm still learning those simple (yet devastating) mistakes.

Edit: It actually looks like fusarium wilt. Anyone know what causes this?

2. Edit: Double post, sorry.

3. Hi mate, check my grow journal for pics of a slightly rootbound plant, i transplanted them about a week ago. You should be able to tell if it's rootbound. Do you have roots growing out the drainage holes? If you do and these are dying you have a problem and must transplant.

4. Thanks man... checked it and that's not the case. Maybe it's just not that bad yet?
    I did a little more research last night and what's happening looks JUST like fusarium wilt. I'm hoping that isn't the case because from what i read... That would mean my 4 babies are good as dead. :(

5. Yup. Not much that you can do other than being more hygenic next time. You live n learn, it's happened to me once but never again. Since then I am a hygein nazi when it comes to grow rooms, which is weird coz outside the grow room i'm the messiest pig on earth lol. Good luck with it all.