Question on LED drivers

Discussion in 'Lighting' started by Cannacaps4U2, Jan 19, 2020.

1. I am ordering an HLG 260w qb.
    I see it comes with the meanwell HLG-240h driver.
    It has a single dimmer screw.

I heard that this is a plastic cheap screw and it has a tendency to strip.
    Has anyone installed an external dimmer?

Did it work?

• Like Like x 1
  2. If it has the internal dimmer, an external one won't be able to be added. Wrong driver type. However, if you're stripping that screw (which takes almost zero pressure to turn) then you're doin it wrong. You're not supposed to crank it down, lol.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 2
    • Agree Agree x 1
  3. Just something I have heard.
    Since I haven't used an HLG qb, I have no experience.

4. It's just a small pot, like a volume knob, but it has a phillips head on it. As long as you don't keep turning it after its at max, you shouldn't have any trouble with stripping.

Sent from my SM-G975U using Tapatalk

• Like Like x 1
    • Disagree Disagree x 1
  5. I have multiple of these HLG drivers with the built-in pot and I never had any problems with the screw stripping. In fact its the first time I am hearing that could even happen.

• Like Like x 1
  6. I have a driver question. I need to work on my dimmer knob and I think it would be easier to just cut the wire and re solder/put on some butt connectors. However if I cut the two wires coming outta my driver running to the knob will my light still be able to be on ? Will it damage anything? It’s a blue and a white wire going to the knob.

IMG_6135.JPG

Sent from my iPhone using Grasscity Forum

7. i feel the problem that most people have is they are using a philips head screw driver. unless you have a philips head that is flat instead of coming to a point(which i have not seen) then its better to use a flat head screw driver. one of the slots in the cross is deeper than the other one so i use my flat head in that and have had no issues.