Question! Going to Home Depot/ Lowes Tomorrow..

Discussion in 'Growing Marijuana Indoors' started by Jman20427, Dec 27, 2005.

1. Hey all, newbie poster here looking for some opinions. I have three plants that just sprouted today, to my surprise(much quicker then I thought) and are under a couple CFL's 24/7 right now. I am making a run to Home Depot/Lowes tomorrow, and I want to spend around 40-45 dollars tops(hey im a college student). By reading through some threads it looks like I have three options. Right now I have a 4' Light Fixture for flos, and 3 little 13W CFL's, so ill def be using those. All I need is two bulbs, unless the fixture is broken....which it may be.
    So here are my options...

1. Buy two more 4 foot fixtures to total three with 1 warm and 1 cool white 40W floros in each. Have the three little 13w CFL's as well.

2. Buy 1 or 2 70w HPS Bulbs...but I would need a fixture for it, dont know what those go for, can I just use a simple one that would screw into a normal bulb casting? I have plenty of those that you can plug an extension cord into and then screw the bulb in the other side.

3.) Spend a little extra and get a 150W HPS and fixture.. I dont know what the total on the would be. I know the bulb is around 37 bucks, but I dont know what fixture is needed( again, is it a simple one like I stated in the last option?)

I have a nice big closet to grow them in, with a fan, and a little ventilation. Im using Sty-Green Soil with fert already in it(peat moss, perlite and limestone)...its a 15-12-9 mix. I think im gonna buy the FoxFarm nutes for it, and just use my tap water since I know there are not alot of acidic chemicals in it.

Ive read through the Grow FAQ and some threads, but there are so many differnt ways and different opinons, Id just like to know whats the best way to go from someone that has been here quite a bit longer then I have, and knows what the general consencious would be.
    Thanks GC