Question about Ventilation and CO2

Discussion in 'First Time Marijuana Growers' started by vancouvercanuck, Nov 4, 2006.

1. Hey guys i'm really new to this so bare with me. I'm starting my first grow very soon but i'm still not clear about a few things.

The room is about L: 10 ft W: 10 ft H: 8 ft (standard bedroom) and has 1 window in it. For the 12 hours of darkness I am going to get a big white painters tarp to cover the window and wall.

But i'm really confused about ventiliation. Is it really necessary to vent the air, humidity, moisture etc. etc. out the window of the room? My biggest problem with doing that is the smell could cause some problems. Also do I need some kind of ventilation sytem or could I just open the window and if so how often?

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks.

2. you need to pull up a chair and do some searches and read.

3. spend some time reading posts and do some searches.loads of info here:cool:

4. I've been looking, can't really find anything on ventilation that answers the questions i'm asking.

5. If you understood the principles of what you are trying to achieve (by reading, as advised) you would be able to answer the broad questions yourself.

Then you are just left with the details, and everyone will be glad to help you with those.

-mu

6. The major issues with indor grows are heat and smell. Most grow lamps produce more heat then an indoor heater and the ones that don't make heat wont give you the same results by a long shot. The type of plant your going to grow will do best in cool temps 70*f. In order to cool your lamp/room you will need a constant forced flow of air. Dry cool air is best. If you can cycle enough air through your room at all times, it will keep the temps down, CO2 levels high, humidity down, and pervent a build-up of smell.

I re-did my vent system about 4 times before it was right. My advice is: over-kill your ventilation